News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/20/2020 3:54:55 PM to 11/21/2020 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

MML eBulletin

Posted on: October 20, 2020

[ARCHIVED] The Marching 79


Congratulations to the cities and towns who made the most of their League training resources by attending the MML Virtual Fall Conference. There are now 79 municipalities marching the road toward a 2021 Banner City/Town designation, the League’s most engaged members.

Not sure what the journey to becoming a Banner City/Town means to your municipality? We help you understand…

•             Helps you understand League resources

Look to the Banner City/Town program as a guide to League resources such as training events and chapter meetings. If you’re going to attend anyway, getting BCT credit is the icing on the cake.

•              Puts your municipality in touch with municipal colleagues

By attending your region’s chapter meetings or an MML department meeting, your officials hear from guest speakers on topics relevant to the operations of your city/town, network with other officials and have an opportunity to share best practices.

•             Provides the tools you need to be an ambassador for municipal government

Opportunities to shine the light on what municipal government does and brings to the residents of Maryland.  

Please review the Banner City/Town Participation Form to identify what your municipality has to do next to stay in contention or reach out to Member Engagement Director, Paula Chase Hyman  

BCT Contenders (based on 2020 virtual fall conference attendance) –  

Aberdeen, Barnesville, Bel Air, Berwyn Heights, Betterton, Bladensburg, Boonsboro, Bowie, Brentwood, Brunswick, Burkittsville, Cambridge, Capitol Heights, Chesapeake Beach, Chesapeake City, Chestertown, Cheverly, College Park, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, Denton, Easton, Edmonston, Emmitsburg, Frederick, Frostburg, Fruitland, Funkstown, Gaithersburg, Galena, Greenbelt, Hagerstown, Hampstead, Havre de Grace, Hebron, Hyattsville, Keedysville, Kensington, Landover Hills, La Plata, Laurel, Laytonsville, Leonardtown, Manchester, Middletown, Morningside, Mount Airy, Mount Rainier, Myersville, New Carrollton, New Market, New Windsor, North Beach, North Brentwood, North East, Ocean City, Pittsville, Pocomoke City, Poolesville, Princess Anne, Queenstown, Rising Sun, Riverdale Park, Rockville, Salisbury, Seat Pleasant, Somerset, St. Michaels, Sykesville, Takoma Park, Taneytown, Thurmont, Union Bridge, University Park, Upper Marlboro, Walkersville, Washington Grove, Westminster, and Williamsport (as of virtual fall conference)

Facebook Twitter Email