News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/9/2020 3:32:14 PM to 4/10/2020 12:00:03 AM.

News Flash

MML eBulletin

Posted on: March 9, 2020

[ARCHIVED] How's your Banner City/Town Journey?


The Banner City/Town designation comes with a vibrant, colorful flag to fly and a nice plaque with a year plate for each time you’re acknowledged. But what does it mean?
Banner cities and towns are the League’s most engaged members. The officials from these municipalities understand the importance of attending professional development activities and networking opportunities. They take the time to highlight how municipal government works and improves the quality of life of Marylanders. And, they serve on League committees and boards, to ensure MML stays on the forefront of getting officials what they need to be effective leaders.
If your municipality is on the road to a 2020 Banner City/Town designation, by now they have attended some or all of their required chapter events, the municipality participated in November’s Municipal Government Works Month and they have or will conduct a school visit soon.
If your municipality is listed below, then based on our records you remain in contention. Please work with the officials in your city/town to get to the finish line which, at this point, may include attending enough of your chapter’s events to equal half of what’s offered annually and/or conducting school visits.
Congratulations to those, listed in bold, who have already achieved 2020 Banner City/Town status.
Aberdeen, Annapolis, Bel Air, Berlin, Berwyn Heights, Bladensburg, Boonsboro, Bowie, Brentwood, Brunswick, Burkittsville, Cambridge, Capitol Heights, Cecilton, Chesapeake Beach, Cheverly, College Park, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, Crisfield, Delmar, Denton, District Heights, Easton, Edmonston, Elkton, Emmitsburg, Federalsburg, Forest Heights, Frederick, Friendsville, Fruitland, Gaithersburg, Galena, Garrett Park, Glenarden, Greenbelt, Hagerstown, Hampstead, Hancock, Havre de Grace, Hebron, Hurlock, Hyattsville, Indian Head, Kensington, Landover Hills, La Plata, Laurel, Laytonsville, Leonardtown, Manchester, Martin’s Additions, Middletown, Morningside, Mount Airy, Mount Rainier, New Carrollton, New Market, New Windsor, North Beach, North Brentwood, Oakland, Ocean City, Perryville, Pittsville, Pocomoke City, Poolesville, Princess Anne, Rockville, Salisbury, Seat Pleasant, Snow Hill, Somerset, St. Michael’s, Sykesville, Takoma Park, Taneytown, Thurmont, Trappe, Union Bridge, University Park, Upper Marlboro, Walkersville, Westminster, Williamsport (as of Fall Conference October 15, 2019)

Facebook Twitter Email