Bylaws Changes

"If I were Mayor..." Essay Contest

This year's MMA sponsored essay contest theme will be "Reimagine tomorrow"  Promotional materials will be sent out to every city & town in early November so be on the lookout.  In the meantime, you can start talking to your local schools about how you could help promote the contest.  As an example, MMA President Dan Burris has provided the flyer he uses to explain local government at the classrooms he visits.   

MD Mayors Association Winter Conference 2018

Winter Conference Registration Now Open!

The Annual MMA Winter Conference is right around the corner.  Please mark your calendars for February 6-7th, 2020.  It will be held at the Westin Hotel in Annapolis again this year.  Register today!

Hyatt Chesapeake

MML Fall Conference Meeting Recap

Over 40 mayors attended the MML Fall conference this week in Cambridge, MD.  At the business meeting held on Monday the 13th, the MMA body took action on the following items.

Behavioral Health Resource Guide

Carroll County Chapter Report

As a result of the charge of Immediate Past President, Mayor Sadara Barrow at the MMA winter conference, Sykesville Mayor Ian Shaw took the initiative as Chapter Captain and worked to get a resource guide into the hands of local governments that would help in dealing with opioid overdose issues.  He worked with the Carroll County Health Department to create a condensed version that they are handing out to all the cities and towns in Carroll County!  

Census Outreach Toolkit

2020 Census Resources

As your city or town prepares for the upcoming census, be sure to check out the Maryland Department of Planning website for information and resources to make sure your city or town gets counted as accurately as possible.  

In the News

Highlighting our Mayors!

Do you know any Maryland Mayors who have been in the news lately?  Please send the link to any article highlighting the work or our Maryland Mayors to, and there's a good chance it will make it in next months newsletter!

Your MMA Executive Committee:

President - Dan Burris, Leonardtown
First Vice President - John Carroll, Galena
Second Vice President - Shawn Maldon, Capitol Heights
Secretary - Takisha James,  Bladensburg
Treasurer - Bennard Cann, Morningside
Immediate Past President - Sadara Barrow, Colmar Manor
Powered by
CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus